top of page

𝐍𝐚𝐯𝐢𝐠𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐧𝐠 𝐂𝐲𝐩𝐫𝐮𝐬'𝐬 𝐋𝐢𝐜𝐞𝐧𝐬𝐞𝐝 𝐂𝐫𝐞𝐝𝐢𝐭 𝐈𝐧𝐬𝐭𝐢𝐭𝐮𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐬: 𝐀 𝐋𝐞𝐠𝐚𝐥 𝐎𝐯𝐞𝐫𝐯𝐢𝐞𝐰

In Cyprus, the financial landscape is governed by a robust regulatory framework overseen by the Central Bank. According to the Registry of Credit Institutions (Μητρώο Πιστωτικών Ιδρυμάτων που λειτουργούν στην Κύπρο), only institutions holding licenses from the Central Bank are authorized to conduct banking activities within the country. This article explores the significance of obtaining such licenses and provides an overview of the licensed credit institutions operating in Cyprus.

A license from the Central Bank signifies that a credit institution has met stringent criteria related to financial stability, transparency, and compliance with regulatory requirements. It serves as a stamp of approval, indicating to depositors and investors that the institution is trustworthy and operates within the bounds of the law. Without this license, a bank cannot legally engage in banking activities, including accepting deposits, issuing loans and etc.

Cyprus's Licensed Credit Institutions ⬇️

Cypriot Banks:

Ancoria Bank Limited

Astrobank Public Company Limited

Hellenic Bank Public Company Ltd

Cyprus Development Bank (CDB) Public Company Ltd

Housing Finance Organization (HFO)

Bank of Cyprus Public Company Ltd

Branches of EU Credit Institutions:

Αlpha Bank Cyprus Ltd

National Bank of Greece (Cyprus) Ltd

Eurobank Cyprus Ltd

Branch of a Non-EU Credit Institution:

Societe Generale Bank-Cyprus Limited

Branches of Foreign Banks from EU Countries:

Banque SBA

Central Cooperative Bank AD

National Bank of Greece

First Investment Bank Ltd

Branches of Foreign Banks from Non-EU Countries:

Arab Jordan Investment Bank SA

Bank of Beirut SAL



Credit Libanais SAL


Joint Stock Company Commercial Bank "Privatbank"

Jordan Ahli Bank PLC

Jordan Kuwait

0 views0 comments
bottom of page